750 grammes
Tous nos blogs cuisine Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Scrumptious
15 mai 2011

Cheese Soup

P1030540

It's been a year since I first heard of the international cheese soup contest. Being obessed with cheese this kinda got my imagination going. When I found out that my boyfriend's familly regularly went to this soup tasting festival, I felt kind of left out, why hadn't we gone yet?

"Well, because there are food oriented festivals all the time, and how were they to know that I'd be particularly interested in this one?"

They live in the south west of France, worldly reknown for its food and I'm interested in all of it!!!

I finally got his grandfather to explain the dish to me, actually it's not a soup, it's a "gratin" and it's not only a cheese gratin but a cheese, bread and cabbage gratin. We're talking about a real down to earth traditional country farmland style dish. Simple.

Stale bread. cheese. cabbage. broth

layered again and again.

well I didn't quite stick to that...

We still haven't made it over there on the right weekend...but until that day, I couldn't bare the suspense so I've tried to make the famous dish myself, without ever tring it before hand and already tweeking the recipe, preposterous, at least that what my boyfriend thinks! But it was cold and raining and well we needed comfort food that day.

.1 head of cabbage 
.3 onions
.a round of tartiflette cheese
."confit" saussages ( "The meat is salted and seasoned with herbs, and slowly cooked submerged in its own rendered fat, in which it is then preserved by allowing it to cool and storing it in the fat")
.bread with sunflower seeds  

.broth (veggy, duck and turkey)
.beer
.water 
.salt pepper 
.gouda 
.thym

Blanch the cabbage head for 15min in boilling water.(this helps with digesting the cabbage) drain and cut into stripes.

Slice the onions and fry in 2 tbs of goose fat until transparent.

Mix the cabbage and the onions in a big pot add about 1.5l of broth. I used what I had: 75cl of turkey broth, 50cl of duck stock and 25 cl of vegtable stock. Add one beer, I used a Lefte and add water to cover. Salt. Cook for about a half an hour.

 

Now it's time to start layering!

Place a few slices of stale bread in a big pot. Well I didn't have stale bread, I didn't even have french bread! I used the sunflower seed loaf I had made the day before in my bread machine. Heresy, yes I know, but in my defense the seeds were quite good in the end result!

Once you've done that place a few slices of cheese on the bread. Again I didn't follow the recipe you're supposed to use a very specific cheese: Laguiole. Well what can I say? I didn't have any either so I made do with "fromage à tartiflette", or raclette.(I've noticed similar recipes all over France each one using their own local cheese...)

P1030538

P1030547

I wanted some meat so I added some confite saussage. I sliced these up and layed them on the cheese. Though in the traditionnal recipe there is no saussage this specific kind is from the same region, nobody will complain of me adding some!!

 

 

At last comes the cabbage and onions.

P1030543

 

P1030550

I managed to fit in three layers finishing with some cheese. Since there is never enough I added some sheadded gouda on top.

 

 

 

Pour the broth from the cabbage/ onion mix on top. The layers should be completely submerged and looking very messy. Sprinkle with thym.

P1030551

I slow cooked this at 160°C for about 1h30.

P1030559

 En Français...

Soupe au Fromage

Cela fait plus d'un an que l'on m'a parlé pour la première fois du concours internationnal de la Soupe au Fromage. Etant complètement obessédée par le fromage cette information a fait travailler mon imagination. Quand j'ai su que la famille de mon copain allait régulièrement à cette fête pour gouter les soupes des concurrants je me suis sentie un peu laissée de côté, pourquoi je n'avais pas été conviée?

"Eh bien parce qu'il y a beaucoup de fêtes de ce genre dans la région et comment pouvions nous savoir que celui-là en particulier t'intéressait?

Ils habitent dans le sud-ouest de la France, connu dans le monde entier pour sa gastrionnomie, tous les aspects m'intéressent!!!

J'ai finallement réussit à me faire expliquer le plat par son grandpère, en fait ce n'est même pas une soupe, c'est un genre de gratin  et pas uniquement au fromage mais au fromage, au chou et au pain rasie.

Il s'agit ici d'un véritable plat paysan tradionnal issu d'un terroir riche et savoureux. Simple.

pain. fromage. chou. bouillon

répètez encore et encore.

Eh bien, je ne me suis pas contenté de faire ça...

Nous n'avions pas encore réussit à être là bas le bon weekend afin d'y participer...mais en attendant ce jour je ne pouvais pas endurer le suspense alors j'ai essayé de faire ce plat de renommé sans y avoir gouté auparavant. En plus j'ai déjà pris des libertés avec la recette, ubuesque, en tout cas c'est ce que pense mon copain! Mais il faisait froid et il pleuvait et nous avions besoin de manger quelque chose de réconfortant!

. 1 chou frisé
. pain aux graines de tournesol
. un fromage à tartiflette
. quelques saussices confites
. bouillon (legume, dinde et canette)
. une lefte
. eau
. sel et poivre
. gouda
. thym

Blanchir le choux pendant 15min. Egouter couper en lamelles

Emincez les onions et faites les suer dans 2 cs de graisse d'oie.

Quand ils sont translucides réunissez le choux et l'onions dans une grande marmitte. Ajouter 1,5l de bouillon, j'ai mis ce que j'avais, 75cl de bouillon de dinde, 50cl de bouillon de canard et 25cl de bouillon de légumes. Saler. Ajoutez juste assez d'eau pour couvrir et une bière, pour moi c'était une lefte blonde. Laisser mijoter pendant une demi heure.

Placer quelques tranches de pain grillé au fond d'une soupière, là encore j'ai dévié de la recette car je n'avais pas de pain rassi. J'ai utilisé le pain au tournesol que j'avais fait la veille dans ma machine à pain. Hérésie , oui je sais, mais à ma défense les graines de tournesol ont donné une texture toute à fait sympatique dans le résultat finale.

P1030537

Déposer quelques tranches de "fromage à tartiflette", soit raclette, sur le pain. Normalement ça doit être du fromage de Laguiole... Ensuite j'y ai déposé de la saucisse confite maison coupée en rondelles. Non, il n'y a pas de saussices dans la recette mais ils viennent du même endroit, cela ne pouvait pas être mauvais!

P1030546

Pardessus tout ça du choux et de l'onion. J'ai répété trois fois l'opération en terminant par du fromage. En plus j'ai rapé un peu de gouda jeune sur le dessus.

Pour terminer j'ai versé le bouillon sur l'ensemble du gratin jusqu'à le couvrir complètement, le gratin est à ce point submergé sous 2cm de bouillon. Parsemer de thym.

 

Je l'ai cuit dans le four à 160°C pour environ 1h30.

 P1030558

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
D
cool. i made it here. now how to send this note? love ya dad.
L
This looks delicious, sometimes the most simple fare is the most tasty!
Publicité
Publicité